The first step to self knowledge is rejection of the familiar

This is way you will learn something new "The first step to self knowledge is rejection of the familiar". Humans are meant to make mistake and learn from their mistakes because we learn through it. we need fail in order to learn something new. we need to learn things from different perspective even we do now those things. This is the meaning of life, you can't be perfect if you didn't fail.

Firstly, we need to learn things from different people perspective because we don't know about everything we're humans in order to do that we have to learn things that we already know and see the different perspective of others and gain knowledge of others. Right way to do this is reject the self knowledge of the familiar and listen to others who knows the same things.

However, sometimes you know things better even if you reject the self knowledge of familiar, also in this way you always learn something even if its a little bit but you will gain some experience, new things to add to your self knowledge and increase it. So, its never a bad idea to reject your self knowledge of the familar and gain some new things of same things you already know.

Eventually, Most of the don't think its a good step to self knowledge because they're too arrogant and rude to understand this but there are people who knows how to increase their by simply rejecting their self knowledge and learn some thing new. Those are best kind of people by the way.

finally, In my opinion the first step to self knowledge or leaning new things is rejection of the familiar because in this way, you will learn somethings new everyday by downsiding your ego-that you know everything about everythings.