The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The issue that in order to teach ourselves or learn new things on our own we should reject the familiar things is a contentious one. Though both sides has it's strengths and weaknesses, I believe that looking at the other side of the perspective will always help us in learning something new.

Firstly, there is a famous saying "Think outside the box". This means we should always think of innovative ways of doing our quotidian work. Self-knowledge is that which we learn by ourselves either by pragmatically performing some experiment or by observation. When we bring some changes in the usual way of a process, whether it is a success or a failure, it will always lead to increase in our knowledge of understanding that process. This is because if the experiment is a success we can adapt that process and if it is a failure the reason why it failed also helps to gain knowledge.

Secondly, lets take an example of a school of deaf and blind children. If this school would teach the children by the same normal way by which normal children are taught, these handicapped children would never understand and would not progress. Thus they have to do some changes in the way of teaching. For example, for blind children the use of Braille learning and for deaf children the use of various gestures would help them in making their learning easy. Also these type of learning were brought about by someone who thought in a different way.

To add to this, if we see around us the great inventions, these inventions would not have been known to us if the inventors did not think in an unusual way. If Isaac Newton did not dig deep into why the apple fell on him, he would never conclude about the gravitational force. If Thomas Edison would have not racked his brains, there would be no invention of a bulb.Also if Graham Bell would have not invented the telephone, we would not be able to stay in touch with our closed ones.

But there is another side to it, we cannot completely reject the familiar things around us. These familiar things might give us new ideas which can lead to unfamiliar inventions. Also with the help the common known things we can develop something which we are not aware of till date.

In conclusion, I would say in order to augment our knowledge we should always look around and think with a different mindset. It is said that "curiosity leads to innovation". The more we try to find out stuff on our own and not blindly believe to what is presented to us, the more knowledge we gain. For these reasons I agree that the first step to self knowledge is rejection of the familiar.