The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The presented argument states that WWAC radio station's listeners declined despite of population growth in listening area. To increase listeners radio should change music programs to news and talk format which is the format of popular radios in the area. In order to fully evaluate this argument, we need to have a significant amount of additional evidence. The argument could end up being much weaker than it seems, or it might actually be quite valid. In order to make that determination, we need to know more then analyze interests of people living in listening area. To get this information, survey need to be conducted, which includes specific questions about music programs whether people like or not, or they want to change type of music, or they want to change with news and talk format. Right now all this information is based on assumptions, which can strengthen the argument if true, or can weaken the argument also, if turns false.

The first assumption is that listeners don't like rock music format of radio, which declined radio listeners. There are many questions related to this assumption such as did number of listeners reduce after rock music program started on radio, which might have replaced any radio program which had large number of audience or rock music program was existing always and people use to like but due to change in music of any particular language or singer, listeners lost interest. After gathering this information only we can analyze that it is a good decision to replace rock music with something else.

The second assumption is that increased population know about radio but doesn't like rock music and radio need to make changes in the format to tailor their tastes with it. First question related to this assumption is whether new residents know about WWDC radio or not. May WWDC radio not do much publicity and most of the new listeners don't know about it. If it comes true, then radio need better publicity campign, not change in shows.

Due to above mentioned discrepencies, a cogent that changing radio format from rock music to new and talk will not be a grandiose solution to increase listeners, until a solid reason, proof and analysis support it. Thus, conducting a survey with specific questions about radio format, and then analyzing results can make a big difference to make this decision.