The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

At first glance the memorandum from the business manager exemplifies positive strategy. The late-news program should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to increase viewership and prevent loss of advertising revenue, but without more concrete evidence results of the startegy seem specultative at best.

The basic flaw in author's argument is that author assumes that there is direct causal realationship between local businessese canceling their advertising contracts with the program's increase in national news coverage. It might be possible the businesses were simply unstatisfied with the services rendered by the program. It may be also possible that the program breached the contract by promoting a rival product on the show. Without the relevant information about why the contract was canceled, concluding to restoring the time of local news and weather to its former level makes little sense.

Another question which is unanswered in the argument is about the viewers concered with weather and local news coverage. Who are these viewers? Do they even watch the late-night news program? It's possible they are concerned with the lack of coverage from other programs on the station. Unless, they are specifically making complaints about the late-night news program, there views while important as they maybe, should not factor in the decision about the program.

While it makes sense the local news and weather news should be the focus of the program, pandering to the needs of the masses while, probably more important national events are taking place is journalistically and ethically incorrect.And

given that we don't know the answers to these pressing questions, buisness manager's strtegy in memo seems ambigious at best.