Government must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive, because it is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

This is a sensitive issue as the author considers the major cities to be the one who preserves the culture. There are many issues to be addressed in the statement. The first question is whether the actual cultural development takes place in cities or in villages. The next query if the financial support should only be provided for keeping the nation's traditions or for the whole round development of the society. I partially agree with the author. I thimk, along with cities , villages should also be given the funds to keep the cultural foundation and to develop them.

Generally cities which, no doubt, has the national culture. But with the coming of people from different country , the culture got mixed or sometimes , get eroded leading to the loss of originality or purity of our ethics. On the contrary, villages with less influx of people from outside keeps the conventions alive with purity. For instance , India is a country well known for its year old culture,. here most of the people in major cities follow the western tradition that is far different from our tradition. whereas in villages people still follow the prejudices of indian culture as bucolic people are not influenced with the outside world too much.

Secondly, cities are known more for their advancement in every field and neglecting the old tradition most of the time. generation and preservation is tough for cities. Therefore country should think more about investing in a place where culture is still alive and followed by most of the people i.e village.

Praising the fact that cultural development and preservation occurs only in village i would not neglect the fact that major cities hold a lot of festival showing indian traditions at global level but many a times the development happens till the festival gets over, after that people follow their quotidian routine and often shun it.

Concludingly I would say that villages and cities should be given equal finances for the development. More than that cultural development ahould be encouraged in cities.