Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people whom they serve.

The government officials are elected by the people to work for the people. Hence, they are liable to hear the opinions of people before making any major decisions. The author suggests that government officials should rely on their judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people whom they serve which is not logically correct. I do not agree with the author on his argument due to the reasons given below.

In any democratic country, the politicians are elected by the people directly or indirectly. The decisions made by these politicians are liable to the people. By considering people will there is a better chance of making the right decisions because the decisions are taken for the benefit of the people. For instance in any area where there is a lack of water and basic needs require for living. If people of this area will not be consulted than then how officials will know what they need? It will be no use if the government will build a big shopping mall there.

If government officials would not hear people's wish then it would be a big blow to democracy. The system would become Dictatorship. There will be no thought of people's benefit and corruption will be at the peak. In case, the government will take action without taking people in consensus, if this decision backfires and causes loss to the nation and people then in this scenario the nation can witness large protests and rallies. Hence, it is always better to take note of people's will before making any big decisions.

However, there are some cases in which government officials should act according to their judgment. In any country's foreign policy and financial decisions are made by the expert people sitting in various government institutions. There is a possibility that the people of country A hates country B and they want war with country B. So, in this case, the officials should thaught and brainstorm before making any decisions. What will happen if country A completely relies on country B for various resources? Hence, the decision should be in the interest of the country not only based on the will of people.

In conclusion, officials should hear the will of people where necessary and when specific expertise is needed before coming to any decision then they should go according to their judgment or go to the experts for advice.