Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Since the dawn of civilization, the well-being of the citizens has been one of the most important goals of the government. The contentious issue that comes to mind here is whether governments need to decide and carry out plans implemented by themselves or they have to pay heed to the citizen’s desires undoubtedly. I personally prefer the former. Governments should rely on their own judgements due to their level of consciousness about society and peoples’ wills. Moreover, accepting peoples’ desires may lead to some unintended repercussions that can adversely affect the society.

First, it goes without saying that, lots of people are not that highly educated, so governments cannot rely on their decisions and preferences. This may conduct the society to experience some negative occurrences. For instance, nowadays, a plethora of citizens in the US are forcing the government to release the sell and purchase of marijuana, so that they can buy and use it legally. What will happen if the government accept their desire and gives them a say? Indeed, this action can have negative consequences both in the short-term and long-term run. Not only using this medicine freely can put users in adverse lugubrious situations, but also it can widespread danger and violence among the society. When people use these types of drugs interminably, relinquishing their control can be a tough task. Drug users’ existence and their erratic behavior threaten peoples’ peaceful lives. That’s why I contend that governments should not trust peoples’ desires without questioning.

Some people may argue that government should carry out citizens’ desires since one of the significant attributes of a prosperous government is to make people happy and satisfied about their lives. Although no one can underestimate how momentous the well-being of the citizens, especially through the governors’ eyes, it is obvious that this obeying the people unquestioningly can be harmful for the whole country. Instead, governments should rely on their own judgements and focus on humans needs. Authorities are well-educated and open-minded; as a result, they can make the best decisions that best fits each circumstance.

To sum up, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that governments should make decisions independently, without the interference of laypeople. Besides, they should concentrate on human needs and try to fulfill all the requirements in order to display one of their important responsibilities.