Government should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

“Spend no money to earn money” sounds enticing, right? Who would not embrace the notion of their university/college waiving expensive tuition fees altogether? Perhaps, this thought would have occurred at least once to a person while writing a tuition check to the university bursar. The choice to attend college in today’s economy, especially for a student from a frugal household, is not a trivial decision. It requires premeditation and requires for important monetary decisions to be made. The prompt recommends that the government offer all university/college students free education. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this suggestion and argue that free education will surely be a revolutionary step in bringing opportunities for many prospective students for a variety of reasons.

To begin, free education would be a chief stimulus for students who have otherwise repulsed from seeking a college education due to the fright of incurring crushing debts. Family members would be more likely to openly support their child’s decision to educate themselves and become competent to secure a satisfying future. The assurance could even fuel innovation and unique craft and skill that individuals might bring.

Moreover, the practicality of free education could alleviate a student’s stress and relieve them from juggling academics and work-study to pay for costly tuition. It may free up the student to tackle other problems. One must also consider the side effect of free education in creating a generally gratified campus population with uplifted morale. The institutions might observe a decreased trend in students dropping out of college and a higher graduation rate which would be in harmony with the recommendation of free education.

Further, one might argue that it is natural for some students to misuse this privilege and, in doing so, waste valuable government resources which could have been allocated elsewhere. Students may become lax and neglecting of this advantage bestowed upon them. However, I believe this recommendation will produce more positive effects than ill ones. An impartial system determining whether a student is worthy of accessing and receiving a college education, such as strict attendance checks or a standard grade required for continual free education, would effectively minimize exploitation.

Thus, the government should contemplate this notion of free education and test out the feasibility of this concept on a micro-scale.