Government should place few, if any restriction on the research and developmental activities

Scientific research and developments have helped to better the lives of the human kind and is ever evolving and progressing. While widely aimed at wellbeing of the society, history does have some counter examples to learn from and to be careful of. Here, a governmental supervision of the activities comes into consideration. But together with it is the peril of such an intervention hobbling the research activities. While it would be better for the government to stay out of the scientific research and development activities, a completely hands off policy from the government side can lead

to unexpected consequences.

Creativity is at the center of Research and development activities, clearly flourishes when it is easy to try out new ideas. Number of innovative discoveries in the scientific fields can be seen to be more in US than in Europe, partly due to the less intervening red tape. Requiring scientists to report on everything about their progress considerably reduces their time which they could have used for conducting research.

Not only does that hobbles the researchers from committing more of their resources, international collaborations will need to pass through screenings based on existing policies. Even when it appears to a reasonable person that the countries have to safeguard their interests, science truly has no borders and its outlook is global. Examining in the context of Medical research, delaying or denying the fruits of a scientific collaboration to a lot of people, simply because they are citizens of another nation, is totally unreasonable.

While it is true that the differences among political leadership of various countries should not unfairly put a large group of population in disadvantage, it could be argued that the way in which the results of the study will be used should be ensured non-detrimental to the human kind at large. For example collaboration in nuclear technological research might help a country overcome its abject energy problems, it is to be ensured that the technology will not be used for destructive ends such as making bombs. This could be applicable to some fields whereas fields such as construction technologies, disaster warning systems etc are less likely to be manipulated to achieve a destructive end.

It seems that the Governments while keeping a hands off policy in general, would do good by ensuring that the ends of the research does not put the safety and wellbeing of the human kind in menace.