Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

The issue at hand suggests that the government must invest equally in both the military and the arts. On careful perusal of the topic, one would tend to agree with this, since the Arts play a pivotal role in society, and is one of the major things keeping our world sane. Without an adequate amount of art in our world, anarchy is inevitable.

In the days of World War I and II, the commoners did not have much motivation to keep working hard. The pinnacle of these motivations, was through the work released by artists, authors, and poets. These radical thinkers, were the ones who inspired and provided reason for the natives to believe that they stood a chance. They spread their own ideologies, and philosophies. Through these ideologies, they were able to create a change in the mindset of the people, and even cause the most unlikely of turnovers in battle, through their continued inspiration! This is clear indication that the governments must respect the arts and invest in them just as much as they invest in the military.

Although, when we look at it from a different stand-point, we realize that art is also a form of spreading peace and joy throughout a nation, in the form of film, writings, posters, etc. We've all heard the phrase, "A painting speaks a thousand words". Then we must allow these forms of art, to speak to the people, and spread peace. But this can be done, only if the governments agreed to invest more in the arts, and be a little less focused on the military. Otherwise, the only message being relayed to other nations would be, that our country is more focused on being ready for war, than promoting moral righteousness.

Lastly, the arts provides us with the medium to exercising our freedom of speech, and freedom of thought. It gives us the individuality that we seek. It allows us to dig deep within ourselves, and understand life's meaning. Isn't that what life's about? We focus so much on alertness against threats, that we forget the chaos being created on the inside. We must address these issues by voicing them. We do not necessarily have to voice them personally, but this can be done vicariously. There are plenty of talented artists, who can express the feelings of the people. But in order to enable this, we definitely must invest in arts as much as we do in military.

Looking at the world today though, we can agree, that International threats are always a possibility. Ignoring those threats would be irrational. So if we can't afford to invest equally in the arts and the military, we must make sure that the gap between their individual funding is closed!