Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is a basic necessity in the developing world. Not only can a educated person is respected in the society but also contributes for the greater good. Free education will no doubt help country develop. But it may also cause problems in terms of quality education. Therefore, the idea of making college and university education free would ultimately land the government in many difficulties.

The primary consequence of making education free would be impact on the wealth of the country. In the country where the population is very large, providing enough resources to make the education free would be a difficult task. For example, a country like India is home to 1.5 billion people. If he government of India decides to provide free education, it will be difficult to build schools in proportion with population. Colleges require proper infrastructure along with good laboratories. As the budget of government would be limited, it would be difficult to build quality laboratories and maintain them. Hence, the quality of education will decline if good infrastructure is not made available.

Moreover, if the government fails to pay the teachers sufficient enough, then the quality of education would be immensely affected. To elucidate, the college which pay very less to its staff in order to compensate the free education been provided would have. Therefore, the teachers might not want to give their 100% and ultimately may even resign. So, in order to make sure teachers stay interested and do not quit they should be paid handsomely. And this is difficult for government to observe.

However, the free education can serve as golden opportunity for the poor students and help them educate. Many children in Africa and Asia are forced to do child labour. Free education can be the source to eradicate child labour. People will send their children to schools and colleges instead of making them work. Hence, free education can be beneficial in some aspects.

Nonetheless, the cons of free education outweigh the pros. Free education will ultimately decrease the quality of education. Also, the teaching staff and teaching conditions won't be good. Hence, government should not provide free education.