Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

There is no doubt that education plays a great role in every aspect of life, From personal life through the person’s job and salary. It even affects person’s behavior with other people and people’s behavior with the person. Every member of the society needs education because every one should be responsible for living in the society. That’s why elementary level education is free in almost every country. But what about higher level education? Should it be free for the people who can’t afford it ?

Making college and university free for specific people has negative effects on the government, on the society and even on the person. University and college education, if made free, burdens a heavy expenditure on the government. On the other hand, education quality decreases because it will be difficult to provide educational facilities for free. Also the number of students in classes and dormitories grows and that’s another problem with this decision.

Other consequences will be making a tendency in all people to be accepted in these free universities. When there is a free service many people want to use it even though they can pay for it, free university is not an exception. It can impugn society’s ethics and honesty and little by little it becomes an uncritical manner to cheat on the government and to lie.

But what if somebody is worthy to enter university but can’t pay the tuition? Is he/she condemned to be consented with just a high school diploma? Obviously not. Government can make other facilities for people with finance problems. For example, they can be teaching assistants and help professors in teaching process and earn money this way, or they can have another jobs around the campus: working in university newspapers or groups, library, laboratories and other places.

The university can give special loans with low profit to these students at the time of entrance and they can give it back to university during their years of study or even after graduation.

In conclusion, it’s better not to have free university education in a society because it has adverse results. There are another ways to replace “free” solution which is more beneficial from different viewpoints.