Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Technology is the core of the civilization of human beings. One can tell human from other kinds of animals from witnessing the marvelous artworks created by technology all over the world. We don’t need thick feather like bears to keep themselves warm in the cold winter, for we invent air-conditioners to keep us warm in the winter season. On the other hand, the development of technology also does a lot of harm to the environment of the earth and to human themselves. The global warming caused by over emission of CO2 may eventually make people live near the sea coast of the continent leave their home to other places because of the rising sea level. So you can see whether to restrict the development or the research of technology is a highly controversial issue. But in my last analysis, I am inclined to support the argument asserted by the issue.

Without restriction, there will be more Funds supports and collaborations of different scientific institutes, which will make more rapid the development of science research and benefit people’s living quality. Nowadays, it is becoming much difficult for us to develop scientific research. Hundreds of years ago, it was quite easy for scientists to make great contribution to the world with performing simple scientific experiments. The ingredients and equipment you require to perform an experiment of validating Coulomb’s law can be easily purchased on the website and with nothing complex concept or calculations. But just take a quick look to the problems which scientists are figuring out nowadays: Gene therapy, the detection of Gravitational wave, Nano-material… These problems or projects are all huge monsters that impossible for one man to solve like early years. To figure out these monsters require the collaboration of thousands of scientists and pretty expensive experiment equipment. Take Gene therapy and nanomaterial as an example, if scientists figure out these two problems then we will have two completely effective ways to treat cancers. By using gene therapy to redress bad cancer cells from gene therapy or building Nano-robots to let them perform surgeries directly in the human bodies, cancer to us in the future will just like cold to us today.

Not all of the inventions, however, derived from technology are conducive to humans. On Oct. 9th, 1941, shortly before U.S government entered the Second World War, President Franklin D.Roossevelt approved the program to develop an atomic bomb. The scientist, J. Robert Oppenheimer took over the program and started off delving into the nuclear bombs. Eventually, he succeed in building two nuclear bombs and the U.S dropped these two into the two cities of Japan, killing thousands of Japan citizens and polluting the environment of Japan severely. Two bombs can make countless casualties and cause inviolable damage to environment, but what if the government doesn’t restrict the development and use of nuclear bombs. What if people treat nuclear bombs as merchandises that can be sold to other countries or private organizations to make profit? We can’t imagine what will happen if this situation comes to true. So when it comes to weapons and military stuff, to restrict the development and research on these things is really correct and necessary, but with sensible management, supporting and not restricting the developing of science is a good choice.

In general, despite the fact that abuse of technology may bring humans catastrophe, the government should support more and restrict less on the development and research of science, using the blade of technology carefully to create better life for all of us.