GRE Issue:Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Reason: Great achievements by a nation's rulers, artists, or scientists will ensure a good life for the majority of that nation's people

The author claims that the surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievement of it's rulers, artists, or scientists and he reasons the claim as the indicator being the welfare of all it's people. The attribute "great" nation is of many types. Here we can take up two scenarios one where a nation can be great economically and another where it is great scientifically.

First to take up a nation which is great economically. In this perspective, the above two statements are actually coternious. They are overlapped and if one is possible, the other should too be possible. Taking first the reason. The welfare of the people reflects a great amount of facts. It portrays the economic and social development within the country. Countries with high economic standards essentially hold a better rank among-st the developed nations in the world. As the statistics go down, so do the economic standards. This economic standard is essentially the amount of people who have high live-off standards, that is, those who have a roof over their heads and a job to sustain it. Now comes the question, why are there nations that do not have good economic standards. Essentially the welfare of the people is just an outlook of the nation's prosperity. Behind every successful nation is a set of excellent leaders, good strategists, and essentially a wise government. To take up a country from an underdeveloped sector to put it among-st at least the developing sector requires great plans and strategies which shape up the society. In terms of talking about 'indicator' or 'outlook', of course it is the welfare of it's people that signifies how economically improved a nation is.

Taking up the next scenario, where a nation is scientifically great. That is in terms of improvements in technology and advancements in science. In this perspective however, the achievements of artists and scientists is what reflects the 'greatness' of a country. We often come across statements like ' X has found the next level of technology- He/she is from Country XYZ'. It's evident from the fact that we often come across texts in student's textbook often stating facts about the history of a scientist. Nations get acknowledged by these facts.

Therefore yes, to an extent, the above said claim and reason becomes valid, but on an scientific scale, we often find achievements of rulers and artists playing an important role in being the indicator of a great nation.