If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

sThe recommendation that if the goal is worthy then any means can be taken to attain it is an allusion to the Machiavellian principle ‘Ends Justify Means’. This proposition poses a serious question to our conscience to ponder upon: Shall we resort to any means whether ethical or unethical to attain our goals - that appear worthy to, at least, us - without any consideration of the consequences they may bring to the society or the people? For a rational mind, the answer would definitely be a ‘No’.

Firstly, the premise of the statement about the worthiness of a goal is subjective. It varies from one individual to the other as to what constitutes a worthy goal. For a student it might be to become a scientist whereas for a novice drug dealer it could be to lead the world’s biggest drug cartel. Secondly, when an aspirant is overwhelmed by the worthiness of the objective being pursued, he or she might adopt unfair means to easily achieve that objective. For example, a student appearing in a highly competitive exam whose result is worth his career might resort to cheating to pass it. Such a success through transgression might fetch some immediate recognition from the physical world, but the person is deemed a loser by the inner conscience. He or she may never realize self-worth and self-respect for the rest of the life which is a far bigger loss than losing the goal itself.

Thirdly, the proposition completely disregard the damage that adopting unsuitable means could inflict on the society or the people. For example, for any Government, attaining United Nation’s goals of sustainable development is paramount for the well-being of the immediate as well as next generations. But, clamping down on factories and industries left and right to reduce pollution – thereby simultaneously stripping the poor masses of their livelihood and pushing the country into an economic crisis – can never be a feasible way. Or consider the case of Mexican General Poncho Villa for whom giving away corn and cattle to the destitute in charity was a worthy objective. But the adopted mean of looting, torturing and killing the affluent people can never be justified. Then, there may be instances when all the three shortcomings that the statement fails to address concur at the same time, that is, an unethical goal perceived worthy by a criminal is pursued through inhuman means causing much destruction to the society. This was the case with the Mongol emperor Genghiz Khan for whom the goal of achieving ascendancy of the Mongolian race over the Asian subcontinent was worth the genocide of several million innocents.

However, one must always weigh the benefits of achieving a goal or the harms in case of failure for the same against the consequences of the means adopted. If the former indeed outweighs the latter, then the proposition is appropriate. For example, war can never be considered a benign way of achieving an objective. Yet during the Second World War, the aim of attaining World Peace and saving millions of Jewish Lives warranted the military confrontations with Hitler. Similarly, imposition of a curfew or restrictions on free movement is not good for a democratic state. Yet during a terrorist attack or a national emergency, such a step is indispensable for the overall security and well-being of the nation and its people.

In conclusion, the recommendation fails to address the subjectivity of the worthiness of any goal as well as the undesirable consequences that adopting unsuitable means can bring to the person in pursuit of a goal or people around him or her. Still, there can be instances when taking undesirable means is justified if the harms of the resulting consequences are outweighed by the benefits of attaining the goal or the cost of losing it.