It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In the contemporary era, there are many people who claim that there can be no here given the fact that famous figures are investigated in detail by various sorts of media. Furthermore, as the internet has developed, the spread of information has been wider and faster. In this situation, any flaw of celebrities is easily and immediately detected and that is why many people argue that societies cannot consider someone with flaws as a hero. While this idea has some valid points, I think a society can still have a hero and there are clear benefits from believing in the presence of heroes.

As mentioned above, it is reasonable to state that any sorts of flaws or scandals related to famous people are quite accessible to all and sundry. Therefore, it is logical to suppose that people would be disappointed with such defects no matter how they have admired the achievements and behaviors of their former heroes. This phenomenon has been found in many places, especially related to political figures. It is usual nowadays that candidates for elections are faced with a myriad of attacks as their faults are revealed by the media despite their former good reputation.

However, this example cannot validate the idea that a living man or woman cannot be a hero anymore. In contrast, people have always maintained their belief in the heroes regardless of any defamation. In some cases, this sort of support even becomes a religious sentiment. This phenomenon is not limited to the past. Even these days, we can witness that many famous figures have reserved their reputation despite the faults of them uncovered by the media or the leaked materials, such as recordings or videos, on the internet. For example, Steve Jobs has been revered by a lot of people because of his contribution to the development of smartphones and other electric devices although his problematic personality has been widely known. Jobs’ followers keep silent about his rude behaviors to the employees and misconducts with his former partners. Similarly, many sports stars have been seen as heroes for many fans despite their misbehaviors. For some football fans, Karim Benzema, a famous football player of Real Madrid, is still a hero although he intimidated his teammate with an illegally recorded video.

Besides, there is no need for society to find a hero among famous people. In contrast, it has been an old trend that a society boasts a specific group of people as true heroes. For instance, firefighters have been described as the heroes in our neighborhood. Ordinary people who just work diligently everyday have also been illustrated as real heroes. This sort of depiction has widely been accepted by other ordinary people and this sort of hero making is beneficial for society. By this process, a society can encourage the members of it to resemble the heroes so that the society can prosper. Besides, the sort of optimism made by this propaganda is helpful for normal people to believe in the positive functions of a society. Given this situation, it cannot be said that making someone a hero is difficult.

In conclusion, it is true that the flaws and defects of famous people are easily found nowadays and some people would refrain from considering them as heroes. However, that is not always the case. As aforementioned, many celebrities have preserved their reputation because of specific performances. Their other problems can be ignored by the supporters in this case. In addition, heroes can also appear from normal people and societies have exploited this procedure. Therefore, we cannot conclude that heroes cannot appear anymore.