It is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public.

What is the fundamental nature of the politics: some type of deceptive game or a straightforward game? Although many people argue that politics should be direct and naivete, but the fact is politics fundamentally demands some amount of disingenousness and deceptive quality. Therefore, I believe that for politicians it is necessary - and often desirable too, to withhold some secrets from the general populace.

Those who would argue that politics should be clean and every information of the state should be shared with the general public might say they have basic right to know what is happening in their country as they are the tax payers who sustains the basic functioning of their state. But this argument is rife with fallacies. Revealing some type of information by leaders would hinder the safety of the general public, say, if PM of any nation claims that some groups of terrorists are planning to kill people in some city, and if the national force makes the terrorist’s attempt abortive, what would be the result? People would be heavily fearful and even if terrorist’s plan is unsuccessful, they would feel psychological and social trauma. In this context, the PM would have been considered sagacious if he would have withheld the information and would have disclosed only after it was precluded by the national force.

Now, consider the another aspect of the argument: politician should withhold information when it is necessary. During Maoist conflict in Nepal, according to some experts, Nepalese Army was not that much superior to the Maoist revolutionary forces. However, national leaders withheld the information about the real status of Nepalese army, and helped to spread the rumor that Nepalese army, faith of all Nepalese people, was much more superior to those Maoist militias; all national medias and related agencies said so. This withholding real information and spreading rumor, at least, helped people to feel safe because government ordered medias not to broadcast news if any army dies and make a big news if Maoist forces are damaged.

Similarly, this year since January, for five months, there was a trade embargo in Indo-Nepal border. Some low land plain centered fringe political parties were disaffected on some provisions of newly promulgated constitution and hence they imposed trade embargo at the border. The government, however, accused India for imposing blocked, and the possible clash between the people of plain and hill was avoided. If the information, the blocked was obviously imposed by the people of plain, was not withheld to some extent, there would have been several communal clashes in Nepal this year and the safety of the people would have been badly compromised.

To recapitulate, after weighing the evidences presented above, it is clear that it is often necessary, and sometimes desirable too, for politicians to withhold some information. The examples of some political events of Nepal mentioned above strengthens my position in this argument.