It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developin

I partially agree with the provided statement “It is primarily in cities where a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved”. Cities, regularly the fulcrum of immigration to a country, foster the generation of new cultural traditions. Whilst towns and areas outside of the city generally preserve and celebrate the existing traditions of their country.

Cities are a magnet for immigration into Australia, with the vast majority of migrants choosing to live near or within one of the mainland capital cities. Immigration results in a large, culturally diverse group of people to begin new lives in these cities. With them comes the cultural traditions that are unique to the migrants home country. Often both the pre-existing and new cultural traditions are mixed to form new traditions within the country. For example; in Sydney, a large Asian, predominately Chinese, a community exists which has grown significantly in the past decades. This has fostered a new tradition within Sydney of both celebrating Chinese New Year as well as our own New Year. This is not uncommon in all major cities in Australia and has generated a new set of cultural traditions that mark Australia as being a multicultural country that celebrates not only our own beliefs and festivals but also those of other countries. Cities are regularly the epicenter of immigration in a country, new migrants bring their own traditions with them, resulting in a fused together set of cultural traditions being generated that now mark Australia’s cultural traditions.

On the other hand, regional areas foster the preservation of cultural traditions and do not thrive in the generating of new traditions. Certainly, as someone who has lived in both regional Western Australia as well in an inner Sydney suburb for a number of years, I agree that regional areas cultural traditions are preserved. A common national cultural tradition of Australia is the Weekend Barbecue consisting of lamb chops, prawns, and beer, with neighbors or family friends. In regional Western Australia, this tradition was vigorously held, with only severe natural disasters resulting in a canceled event. Any thought of suggesting a different weekend event was quickly shunned by everyone in attendance. Whilst in the city each week a new event was held, ranging from Barbecues to playing Chinese chess to Indian dancing. Regional areas foster and preserve their countries cultural traditions, whilst rejecting the generation of new ones.

Limiting my position is that on certain issues a city may be very resistant to change. If this occurs because communities cling onto old cherished beliefs due to the generation of new traditions evict previously held ones is unknown. In many regions across Australia, there is a push to move 'Australia Day' to a different date. The reason being that currently Australia Day is held on the day the first settlers from the United Kingdom set foot in Australia, beginning a period of horrible treatment for indigenous Australians. Many regional regions have relinquished their tradition of celebrating Australia Day on that day or have at-least paid their respects to the awful treatment of indigenous Australia's. People in the cities have not considered this idea what so ever and will continue to celebrate Australia Day as has traditionally been done. Thus cities, although often accepting new traditions and adapting their own, can be extremely resistant to some forms of change and will cling onto these traditions strongly.

In conclusion, cities are often the center of cultural tradition generation and adaptation. Whilst regional areas cling onto pre-existing traditions with a doggedly. However, in certain cases cities can reverse and cling onto traditions with as much vigor as regional areas.