It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

The statement above claims that it is above all by our identification with the social groups that we know who we are. Although assimilation into social groups is a fundamental factor in realization of ourselves, the personal part, if not more, is equally important in realization of ourselves either. Hence, the self-concept is at least consisted of two levels: a personal identity and a social one. In what follows the both aspects will be discussed.

To begin with, by measuring their position among peers, children begin incorporating social identity into their own concept of self at early ages. The seeking of self begins in childhood and continues along life. When the time goes by, notably when adolescents are on the cusp of separation from their families _ nearly 18 years old_ they appeal to such social groups to define themselves independently. This is why parents are concerned about the communities their children chose to be with. Communities and social groups sometimes are able to have influences on members more determining than the years of endeavors of parents to nurture their sons or daughters.

Furthermore, the definition of self sometimes intertwines with membership of social groups that people even compromise their life toward remaining in such social groups. The social enclaves throughout the history can be a solid evidence. Social enclaves are made up of members alienated from the society and they gather as a minority. These gatherings lend a self-concept to each of members and preserves their identity. Ideological policies, intolerant of any dissent, were always to hunt such enclaves and destroy their members. Despite such a threat, people were constantly persistent in membership of social enclaves since they feel void without such a group. For instance, we can see that in Czechoslovak history, despite the spying communist government, social enclaves take shape in every corner of such a war-torn country.

Nevertheless, there is another aspect to identify ourselves with. The self-knowledge is what helps us identify ourselves regardless of our social identity. To illustrate, consider Mahatma Gandhi. Having studied in England, Gandhi became cognizant about the situation of his homeland. When he came back to India, he suffered from the people whose conformist behavior allowed the English Empire to extort them. In this regard, it was not the society giving the Gandhi the identity of being a leader, but he himself realized his role in the history and then fulfilled it.

In short, as discussed in the body paragraphs, the self-concept comprises two levels, personal and social identity. While membership of a social group can so much shape people’s self-concept, it is not the only chief factor. The personal knowledge also is so crucial in determining who we are and it can be distinct from the social identity.