Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, time, and places.

In this era, laws are the most basic rules which all people should obey. Therefore, whether laws should be flexible to match different conditions are arguing constantly. Some people believe that laws should keep the same in any situations and for anyone so that it can be fair for all human being; while opponents claim that laws should be flexible based on different cases so that it can be more humanized. Personally, I do agree that laws can be slightly different when they are operated in order to avoid some flaws.

First of all, laws are not perfect themselves. We all know that laws are frequently modified and every year the legal system will publish several statements about how some special laws are changed and progressed. Sometimes, we can even see some irrational laws are abandoned. Therefore, we can conclude that the law itself is not correct in some places. According to that, it is unfair for some people to be misjudged by those fallacious laws. We have heard news about people in prison for more than ten year was announced innocent recently. The person he was accused to murdered came back alive. That is a good news for the legal system because they have a chance to correct their fault. But it does not seems fair for the one stayed in prison for many years. Thus, one of the most important reasons for laws to be flexible is that they can be wrong. So make judgement based on real situation is the key way to avoid faults.

Besides, laws should be flexible when citizens are facing emergency situation. Robbing is definitely a crime and whoever rob one’s car should be punished harshly to prevent such events happen again. However, what if the people who robs the car happens to has a child who is dying and there is no tax or other person can help; furthermore, the only driver he saw refused to give a hand? Should that behavior be punished? I don’t think so. No matter in what situation, lives should be the first to take into account. I don’t believe there is anything more valuable than that child’s life. Therefore, even the most false action might have a reasonable explanation. Laws should take care about that and yield to some particular events.

Some people might argue that if laws can be flexible in any time, it is unfair for people who commit the same crime. And offenders tend to use judges’ sympathy to get a less serious sentence. This could be right. However, cases are not judged by only one person, there is a whole group attended every trait and judgment. The likelihood that all the people are bias is very small. Therefore, the fairness of the legal system can be withhold even under a more flexible laws.

To sum up, laws should be somewhat different based on special situations. There is no one hundred percent clear criteria to judge the right or wrong for actions because even the most terrible behavior can be caused by a good reason. Apart from that, laws can never restrain human’s right to struggle for lives. Fair, freedom, and alive is the fundamental reason for people to obey laws.