Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

Leaders are always expected to fulfil demands that the people have, however, this is not the only quality that defines a leader. Leaders have several responsibilities to take into account when they take charge of their position. There may arise situations where they are unable to fulfil some demands, this does not come in way of creation of a leader. However, if the person in position is resorting to self concentrated demands then he may not be called a leader.

There are several qualities that define a leader, whether the adhere to what they promise, whether they are fulfilling needs of the common people, whether they are working on issues for the betterment of the society. If a person qualifies for these qualities then he can called a leader. The overall development of a leader is charaterized by these qualities.

In a democracy, it is the people who choose their leader and they are right to have certain expectations from the leader. It might not be possible for the person to fulfil every demand that is placed on him. He may take up a course of action that delays the expected result or might even backfire. Like in the case of current Indian Prime Minister, Narendra Modi. When Narendra Modi was elected Prime Minister of India, people were expecting quick changes in the system. Modi has been a true leader but according to certain critics he is not fulfilling the demands. The people who criticize need to understand the amounting pressure on the leader. Modi has introduced interesting schemes like Swach Bharat Abhyaan and Make in India, these are promising ventures that will take time to flourish. Demands cannot always be fulfilled in a short course of time, it is important to analyse whether the leader is taking a proper course of action and moving towards the right direction. Modi is working on some major issues in India, it might happen that he may miss out on some demands. However, it cannot remove the tag "Leader of India" from his name.

If the leader turns out to be selfish and lethargic, one who does not care of the demands and finds pleasure in the power that he is bestowed with then that person cannot be called a leader. That is the case of a dictator, where one is just focussed on showing off his power by imposing harsh rules. A person in power who is not fulfilling demands or working towards the society cannot qualify as a leader.

Therefore, according to me, leader are not created just by the demands impended upon them. There are several other aspects, in addition to fulfilling demands, to look at while creation of a leader. All these qualities combined create a leader.