Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position y

Discipline is a factor that is necessary to be inculcated within every individual since childhood, which enables maintain decorum at all places where people interact at various forums. Learning is not the primary matter of personal discipline, whereas, there are many other external factors and behavior aspects that should be adopted outside school or college.

There are different situations at different places such as kids when at home behave differently than when they are at a playground along with the other kids playing a game. Parents expect that the kid should maintain discipline at home by arranging his study books at proper location, wash hands before eating foodstuff, arrange the ironed clothes in cupboard, eat food at regular intervals , sleep and wake up early etc. Imagine a kid being bribed for doing all these things on time at home. If the kid later demands his parents for whatever he needs every time on completing an activity in time. If this continues, the kid would always ask for a bribe on completion of task. Parents and other guardians at home when avoid such bribes and help in making the student independent will help build good qualities within the student. These things cannot be taught at school or college, the students should be groomed by their parents at home to build discipline.

Sporting spirit is always required to avoid conflicts during playing games. Students when play an outdoor game such as football, cricket, basketball etc. teams are formed to play against the opponent. The behavior of every individual player in the team contributes to the synergy amongst the team mates. The discipline of playing the game right way without having conflicts is not being taught by anyone, rather it is the collaborative skills that help every player in the team play with a positive spirit to win the game. These disciplines are build only when students play more games, follow the rules for every game and win the game considering team effort.

Business etiquettes are not mentioned at organizations, it is the discipline that is followed by every individual when interacting with colleagues, behaving ethically, helping others at work, maintaining decorum at meetings etc. All these behavioral aspects are not being taught at any level. They are the disciplinary traits that should be with every person since their childhood and then portrayed in a right manner at every forum or situation.

Discipline is a necessary factor that is to be maintained at different situations, at different forums and in an appropriate manner. Discipline can be build only by accepting and improving on the negative points received as a feedback from our parents, peers, colleagues, friends and our well wishers. Discipline cannot be learnt only at school or college, in fact it is a continuous process where an individual builds disciplinary qualities at places where an individual spends maximum time.