Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or colleges alone.
The author contends that students cannot be motivated by external factors like school or colleges alone,
he further asserts that learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline. I completely stand by author's
claim. No person can be forcefully injected ideas or motivation for some particular task or work. Self-motivation
is the primary tool responsible for learning. School and colleges provide a necessary platform and for students
to cultivate their ideas and dreams, but ultimately it's upto the student itself to decide what he wants to learn,
and in which field is he inclined to.
The reason I support author's claim is because there are abundant real life examples in which people have imbibed
much knowledge even without attending school. We all know that Albert Einstein was a school dropout. He was a very
poor child in mathematics and to our astonishment he went on to discover the famous Theory of Relativity. Bill Gates
is another example of how learning is a matter of personal discipline. Bill Gates dropped out from his college who
later on founded the Microsoft Corporation. Educational institutions cannot focus on each and every student.
Moreover, The educational institutions do try to motivate and guide the students but eventually it depends on the student
how much he learns and implements the teaching provided. The students that are lacking in self-motivation do not succeed
to the extent the self-motivated student does. What would happen if Michael Jordan was forced to study economics rather
than to play Basketball? Jordan was once left by his school coach arguing that he was not good enough, but everybody knows
what happened next. Today he stands one of the most successful players in the history of NBA.
However, schools and colleges play an important role in student's motivation. They are primary source of student's
acquisition of knowledge. There are some examples in day to day life in which educational institutions play a major role
behind the success of their students.
In sum, I agree with above mentioned assertion that students cannot be motivated by schools or colleges alone. Other external
forces and self-motivation play a significant role in overall development of student.