Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Today is the age of independence, everyone have the equal chance to be independent in his life. The technology is booming, the communication is flourishing. We can do tasks, which were tedious in past in just a fraction of second these days. People are becoming self indulgent in their approach, appreciation is depreciating. However, nobody can deny the importance of college, school or any other similar institution in one's career. Although, personal discipline is very crucial for success but we can't ignore the contribution of such institutions.

Everyone wants to be the next Bill Gates, Mark Zuckerberg or Steve Jobs. If they can make it after dropping out from college, why can't I? . Nobody can ignore the wonders these people have done, but nobody talks about the people who did n't make it through. I don't want to be pessimistic about it, I want to be rational. Every person is different, some are born with inherit personal discipline, some require a little push. It doesn't mean we are not gifted enough, it's just, we are differently gifted.

Moreover, nobody talks about the people who are successful and were motivated by their respective institution. I think the idea of doing something by yourself exists from our birth. Children gets excited, when they do anything without any help from their parents. The romanticism related to the idea to be successful without any help is making it more popular.

Some qualities are irreplaceable, such as hard work, self discipline, but the role of school or college is also of prime importance. Every person is wired differently, they have different needs. Most of the people needs direction at some point of their life, if not always. School or colleges or even their parents can act as one, with the help of other qualities such as hard work and self discipline they can achieve their desired goals.