The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

In the technology-driven world, humans are surrounded by fragments of life luxury equipment e.g. internet to socialize, smartphones to connect to the world, online markets to shop and myriad modes of public and personal transport. A deep reflection on the consequences of over reliance on these luxuries and conveniences would certainly prove that they have prevented the people from developing into strong and independent individuals.

Undoubtedly, modern luxuries and conveniences are an inseparable art of the daily life, but in no way important for the development of an individual and shaping his/her inner self. The characteristic of a person is dependent upon his upbringing, and is shaped by his surroundings and molded by hiss education. It is how one perceives life and its atrocities, overcome each and every hurdle and accept challenges, which determine the strength of a person. To be a strong individual one requires great inner conscience and self-will and must have a clear roadmap, willing to struggle and not giving into temptations or vices. An independent person requires one to raise voice against modern day atrocities corruption, tainted political system, etc. More independence calls for greater self-responsibility, excelling in decision making, efficiency in handling responsibilities and not bounding by emotions but guided by pragmatism. Thus, the strength and independence of an individual depends more upon his situations and surroundings and less on luxuries and amenities of modern life.

A retrospect on the consequences of excessive dependence of modern luxuries would understand how it has impeded human physical and mental development. For instance, the physical stamina of the contemporaries who use cars for every short distance is no match to that of their predecessors. Similarly, the mental ability of the calculator dependent contemporary students to manually solve complex mathematical problems is not comparable to the mentally acute ‘abacus’ generation. More than hindering human development, excessive reliance on luxuries serves to weaken the human abilities. For example, excessive use of the luxury of antibiotic for every trivial health issue has served to weaken the immunity system of the masses. The drastic psychological consequences of video games such as blue whale, PUBG, etc. is another example. Moreover, luxuries and conveniences have people more dependent than ever. The unimaginable and abysmal state the world would be in without electricity or internet jus for one day is enough to illustrate the point.

Some people argue that these luxuries and amenities have redefined the human limits and thus have made them stronger and more independent. For example, with the invention of aeroplanes the human mobility has incomprehensibly increased; television has brought entertainment home; with internet nobody in the world is a stranger but just a friend who has not yet interacted and so on. The assumption only holds true if one’s perception of human strength and independence is the ‘technology-enabled abilities’ instead of natural faculties. Another point is that it is the inherent strength and independence of human thoughts and mind that made these inventions possible. Yet, people fail to understand being unknowingly enslaved by these luxuries. They prefer socializing on Facebook to confronting people in real life, tend to play video games rather than running on fields, choose to telephone aged parents instead of spending quality time with them and so on. These luxuries have made us indolent and stripped us of the opportunity of facing real world outside. An individual confined within virtual domains, without enough experiences, can never grow into a healthy, strong and independent person.

Thus, luxuries, though an indispensable part of human life, prevent one from being exposed to the harsh reality of modern life. A strong and independent individualism calls for wide acceptance of world realities, strengthening natural faculties and developing inner self; and is less dependent on the luxuries and convenience of contemporary life.