The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

I mostly agree with the statement that the conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into independent individuals. The luxuries have created dependance and lack of endurance. However, in some causes the conveniences of contemporary life facilitate independence.

Firstly, contemporary life has created a reliant population. A great example of this is technology. In the past, one would have to search up directions before leaving the house or have a map with them to navigate to a new area. Now, one can leave the house and turn on their GPS with ease. When it does not work however, it leaves the user stranded. The luxury of the GPS stymies the vigilance of people to seek out information before hand. In the same line, fewer people can recall phone numbers now. It is mostly due to the reliance on our phones, which serve as a lock box for important numbers. What would happen if our phone stops working? Would you be able to remember your friend’s number? I know I would not be able to. Technology, a convenience of contemporary life, has made people dependent.

Additionally, the conveniences contemporary life provide has decreased people’s endurance to difficult situations. For example, while taking an online exam the student fails to remember the answer to one specific question. As a result, they attempt to cheat, due to the easy access to answers on the internet. Rather than going through the grueling hours of studying, they resort to such means. Another example is when the electricity stops working.

However, the luxuries contemporary life has helped to facilitate independent thinking in some cases. For example, the Coursera provides free college level courses in different subjects for those who are interested. Those who wish to delve into other passions that are not taught to them can access them on the Internet. Additionally, luxury of technology has also allowed for a easier exchange of ideas across the globe, as in the past people resorted to emails or letters. Although the luxuries of technology can bolster independent thinking, it is dependent on how the person choose to utilize technology.

In summation, contemporary life has provided people conveniences that create dependance and and lack of endurance. However, depending on how it is used, in some causes the conveniences of contemporary life can be used to facilitate independence.