Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement put forward by the author, in my view is generalized, yet equally true, but to some extent. Research is constant quest to find the answers, to unanswered question. There has been in various instances, where the discoveries and inventions took place accidentially, while the research statement was something else, but this is not always true there are researhces which are carried out systematically, with proper problem statement and even the answers are found out. Thus it cannot be generalized that all discoveires have happened accidentially.

There has been discoveries, for instance, discovery of Newtons laws of gravitation. While sitting below the apple tree, newton was unaware, neither was is sitting to perform an experiment nor he was aware about what discovery he was about to make, so one can claim that newton discovered gravity accidentially, but other side of story is, though he was pondering about "why did the apple fall in downward direction?", it is equally true that, for formulating the final equation of newtons law of gravitation, he obviously researched, wether is there any documentation about this phenomenon, or wether somebody was already working on this problem. It is obvious that the mechanics was not discovered by newton, there were other scientist, for example, Euler, Gallelio, who were already working on mechanics before newton.

The discovery about dinasours fossils were obviously not made intentionally, it was a scientist who was studying geology, accidentially discovered the fossils of dinasours, where he study about the rock. Even the discovery of X-ray was made accidentially by Mr. Runtgen, who kept the photographic plate below the radioactive material an discovered about the X-rays. There are certain instances were scientist constantly strive for research problem, by doing a systemic study, like the one of Higg's Boson particle, to prove the theory a large paricle collider is being setup in Geneva. The discovery of higg's boson particle is obviously not accidential.

In conclusion, it can be said that, yes there are discoveries and invention which happened accidentially, and will obviously going to happen in future, but the to formulate the theory, a scientist will have to follow a systematic procedure.