Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

In our modern society there ia a question about the role of mass media and the internet arising. Some people claim that despite the fact that attention of viewers/users to some infromation became shorter they started to choose and to sort needed information out of all. To a certain extent this claim sounds realistic, however there are also challenges that should be overcome.

First of all, let condsider the postive effects of the both mass media and the internet. The information became too enomorous in quantity and people start to find information that is essential for them. According to some researchers information that is not just read or heard, but got in the process of filtering is much more useful for the user as it is information that he or she eagered to get. Moreover, large quantities of information lead to the situation when in business people have to advance their technologies to analyze information (in business it has got a name of Big Data) and, therefore, such spheres and objects of science as machine learning, OLAP-cubes and etc. are improving in order to be able to comprehence the data.

On the other side, there are a lot of drawbacks. For instance, many students do learn their professional disciplines, but just memorize where they can find information about them. Some of them use such encyclopedias as Wikipedia that provide rather useful, but not always accurate information. That may be a problem for future generations that they are losing their abilities to remember and to be attentive to the details. Moreover, there may be a result of political polarization of society due to so called fragmentatization. What does it mean? It means that people start to watch that mass media that provides information from the point of view of some political party and usually such information is biased. Therefore, many people watching different biased news may become trully uninformed about what is really happening in the country and that may lead even to civil wars as we can observe in Syria and Ukraine.

To conclude, it is inevitable that the quantity of information provided by mass media and the internet is increasing. What is much more important that besides the advantages of the advanced technologies which made this happen there are problems that society has to solve in order to prevent polarization and other bad effects.