Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Mass media and internet are two of the most important factors in the present world responsible for bringing about a huge change in peoples lifestyle. The internet can solve almost any problem in all the fields of study. The vast information provided by the internet no doubt requires enhanced ability to sort through the lexicon to find out the pertinent piece of information. However, they have not caused peoples attention spans to get shorter.

It is true that people are more dependent on the internet today rather than text books. It is also true that people can now get the relevant information at one click instead of searching for hours in journals and books. However, this does not prove that their attention span has reduced. In fact, the time saved from finding the information in books is utilized for productive purposes. For instance, if a doctor requires information on a specific disease, he/she can just search on google and get the information in a jiffy. the amount of time saved can be used for further research on the disease.

Mass media and internet no doubt offer a huge quantity of information. A single search in google on the topic 'apple' yields millions of results relating to the fruit apple , the company apple and any other aspect having a modicum of relation to apple. This can sometime befuddle the person, causing him/her to use the wrong information. However, with time, this problem has been tackled to a great extent as people are getting more experienced in this field. Any new field of learning can of course prove to be a challenge for a callow person, but upon experience, every field can be mastered.

The advantages that the mass media and internet offer overshadow the minor foibles. Today, a world without internet and and mass media is unimaginable. Even a first grade school kid knows how to use the internet. As the world is becoming more and more technical, the use of books is reducing. This throws light on the fact that people field of focus is shifting. While it may appear that their attention span is reducing in a field, it is because they are focusing on other important fields.

Hence, Mass media and internet, through the wide scope of information they offer, have created a 'technical revolution' with people becoming more efficient in their ability to sort for relevant information and also to use that information for good purposes.