Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Glancing back through the history, one can undoubtedly notice that there is no time in the history that people's learning processes and approaches have been changed more quickly and dramatically than recent centuries. When it comes to if these changes influence people positively, there is always a heated debate. As far as I am concerned, I agree with this prompt statement for the following reasons.

First of all, the main factor I consider is that the ability to find important stuff among a bunch of information saves people time and effort for them to do things that are truly meaningful. After thousands of years' development, human society has accumulated a big amount of knowledge. While the life span of a person is limited, it is impossible for he or she to master every single skill on the world. Therefore, it is crucial for people to have the ability to filter out what is useless and catch the pithy part from the mass resource we can easily get by key in some keywords on search engines. Thus, I would say the effect of recent technology and mass media is positive overall.

Opponents for this statement may argue that it is terrible for students to have short attention spans as they are likely to be distracted by their electronic devices or other stuff every several minutes during the lecture. However, as long as we truly figure out what is the best learning strategy for students in this generation, this should not be a problem. For example, instead of deliver a full length lecture, teachers can pause the lecture for a while and let students do self-learning by searching materials on the internet or discussing with classmates.

To sum up, despite it cannot be denied that people's attention spans are negatively influenced by the mass media and internet, as long as we have good self-awareness on this problem, we can easily solve it. What these floods of information eventually brings us is the more important ability on catch the essential part and make people more efficient on learning.