The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Contemporary culture can be defined as current ideas, customs and social behaviour of a society. A society on the other hand is a multi-dimensional entity covering people and groups over wide spectrum of age, professions, religions, etc. Youths form a significant part of society and their trends represent an important part of contemporary culture. However, its comprehensive understanding warrants the analysis of the trends of the society as a whole.

Admittedly, the youths are more expressive in their practices and habits. Culture is transmitted from one generation to another through them and they are the first to embrace any paradigm shift. Be it adoption of social media as a mean of socializing or ordering ‘junk food’ online, it is the youths who start a trend which later becomes part of contemporary culture. Therefore, the statement is agreeable in so far that, analyzing trends in younger population is effective in understanding contemporary culture in some respects. However, culture, or contemporary culture for that matter, is not limited to certain practices of a specific age group.

By asserting that analysis of trends in youths is enough to understand contemporary culture, the statement implies that whatever is represented by the other age groups is not a part of current culture. The adults, old and even the children are an integral part of the society and hence its culture. For instance, while looking at the clothing habits of the young in India gives the impression that ‘casual wear’ is the present dress culture, trends in mature population reveal that traditional dresses such as ‘saree’, ‘dhoti’, ‘Kurta’, etc. are proudly embraced as cultural outfits. Moreover, youths are capricious in their choices. They may start sporting a vague hair cut or start wearing atypical accessories after watching a movie. Such ephemeral habits cannot be considered contemporary culture.

Contemporary culture also corresponds to group specific behaviour and reflects a wide range of categories including political culture, religious culture, corporate culture, academic culture, etc. People falling within a particular group tend to behave similarly regardless of their age. For example, people from Sikh religion in general wear turban and sport beard irrespective of their age group. Or for example, while analysis of youths belonging to right wing political groups might give a conservative perspective of the society, youths from liberal groups portray a completely contrasting image. Furthermore, contemporary culture encompasses intangible aspects such as ideas, beliefs, values, etc. prevalent in the society. These aspects can only be grasped through analyzing the literature, education system, laws and policies of a society and even by gaining first-hand experience of living in it.

In conclusion, while analyzing trends in youths indeed gives an outlook about the emerging cultures for they are flamboyant in their habits and uptake modern trends more easily than the others, the definition of contemporary culture as a whole is not limited to some specific habits and behaviours of the youths. It spans across different social, religious and age groups and is representative of their practices, behaviour, customs, etc. Additionally, it stands for intangible social features such as values, beliefs, ideas and so on. Therefore, understanding the contemporary culture of a society in totality necessitates the analysis of trends not only across various age and social groups but also of its prevailing literature, socio-political system, etc.