In most professions and academic fields imagination is more important than knowledge Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim In developing and supporting your position be sure to address the most c

Imagination is an integral part of advancement in any profession and field, allowing people to broaden their horizons by transcending insurmountable boundaries of thoughts or possibilities. Since the majority of innovations in human history seem to be attributed to forerunner’s creativity and attitude to look beyond what’s established, it is valid to question whether imagination outweighs knowledge. However, as far as I am concerned, in most professions and academic fields, it is essential to be equipped with proper knowledge to understand tasks and further proceed accordingly.

Granted, in a few fields such as science and business where inventing new theories or products that should surpass existing ones are necessary, imagination plays a vital role. To specify, before the Wright Brothers, humans had not even considered the possibility that human could fly in the sky, hence there was hardly knowledge that could be applied to devise such a flying object to carry men. The two pioneers, who were different from their contemporaries, ultimately invented the first airplane through their creativity by incorporating engine, wings, and propellers. The freedom from mobility restriction is one of the biggest feats that prompted an unprecedented progress in history of transportation and globalization. This compelling example demonstrates that imagination is crucial in certain fields.

Nevertheless, it should be noted that understanding of existing structures and established facts are more important in most professions and academic fields. In the medical field, for example, what will happen if doctors put more emphasis on imagination and then attempt to experiment with their patients? Not only does it violate the principle of job ethics, but also people cannot use the medical service to cure their illnesses because they lose confidence of the doctors. During med-school, prospective doctors are trained for almost a decade to acquire existing knowledge in biology, such as human organs, genes, viruses, and diseases. Based upon this solid knowledge base, they are qualified to perform surgery and provide medical service to the public. Therefore, when professions are intertwined with human interaction, knowledge is more conducive to make people’s lives convenient and fulfilled.

Not only at an individual level but at macro-scale, knowledge acts as a driving force to sustain our society and thrive. What if governors are instilled a sense of entrepreneurship and obsessed with new ideas and do not make decisions based on reality? Only pursuing radical ideas that are not supported by the vast majority of people is ostentatious word for dictatorship. Relying on slight chance of success of trying new path hampers people’s lives. Imagine a president declare space exploration project and pour extensive budget to push forward the development while most citizens are impoverished. On the other hand, if educators always emphasize imaginative skills and neglect the importance of basic knowledge that are essential for understanding important concepts and facts such as of mathematics and language, students end up acquiring nothing but illusion that will only confuse how to communicate with people and how to comprehend the complex society. By passing down basic but quintessential knowledge young people have to be born with, education has played a key role in human’s thriving.

In summary, even though imagination brings lively new experiences to humans, knowledge should be served first in the majority of professions. The worldwide pioneers are those who have a deep understanding of existing theories, ideas and structures, and proceed further to explore different paths based on this knowledge set.