In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Imagination is the ability of mind to form ideas, image and concept of the object not present to the senses. Knowledge on the other hand, means skills, facts and information acquired through education and experience. The statement contends that in most professions imagination can prove to be a more valuable asset than knowledge. While the statement is true to the extent that imagination can prove to be more useful in certain circumstances, one must not go too far in overstating its importance with respect to knowledge.

Admittedly, when individuals are let free to imagine without the constraints of established principles and norms, they can do wonders. Many historical accomplishments are testament to this fact. Genghiz Khan’s army commander Subutai’s feat of conquering thirty two nations and winning sixty five pitched battles can be a glaring example to illustrate how valuable imagination can be. Using his sheer imaginative force he devised unthinkable military strategy of coordinating large chunk of Mongolian armies hundreds of miles apart without any communication to converge at decisive moments and surprise the enemy forces. Till 800 years this strategy remained relevant and was employed by the Soviet army in the World War II.

Additionally, there are certain professions where imagination has precedence over other skills such as theoretical physics, music, literature, etc. What was needed to postulate the great theory of relativity? Surprisingly, a pencil, a piece of paper and most importantly young Einstein’s imagination- which knew no boundaries - were the requisites. Similarly, in literature, Shakespeare’s magnum opuses were a product of his creativity. Or, in music, imagination played the key role for many composers who enjoyed instant success with their vey first albums.

However, knowledge is as important as imagination in transforming the latter into a reality. For instance, a child or a student known for his artistic creativity cannot produce a master piece like Vinci’s Mona Lisa without knowing the principles and techniques of professional artists. Or, while creative science fiction movie makers had given the idea of space ships long way back, it was the knowledge and expertise of NASA’s aeronautical engineers that brought that idea into life. In fact, in the previously stated examples of Einstein, Shakespeare and others, it will be unfair to claim that they could have accomplished those feats without specialized knowledge in their arena. Moreover, obsessive imagination without the knowledge of reality and truth may result in delusions. Such is the case with psychotic people who live in their own imaginative world and lose touch with reality.

The statement further overlooks the fact that imagination and knowledge are not mutually exclusive. Researchers have demonstrated that people with higher intelligence and knowledge possess more vivid imaginations. More often than not, it is the symbiotic effect of imagination and knowledge that proves to be the most valuable asset for humans. Myriad scientific and historical achievements also bear witness to this fact. While Newton’s imagination helped him decipher the connection between a falling apple and gravitational force, it was his knowledge as a Physicist and Mathematician that enabled him extend that idea beyond the apple tree to encompass celestial bodies of the universe. Similarly, though imagination helped technology leaders like Zuckerberg or Gates to envision ‘Facebook’ or ‘Windows’; without their coding knowledge and skill those ideas would have never come to fruition.

In conclusion, while the statement is correct in so far that, in some instances and professions, imagination is more of a necessity than plain knowledge alone; however imagination without knowledge can serve little purpose. Imagination itself arises from knowledge and, in most of the instance, it is the synergistic combination of the both that has proved to be the most valuable asset for humanity.