A nation should require all of its students to study the national curriculum until they enter college

Education is defined by webster dictionary as the study of a subject for intends to learn and understand more about it. With the basic premise in mind, it is quite clear that a if a student learns something old, antediluvial every year, it is highly unlikely that he would succeed in life to become a well rounded individual. The whole idea of education is lost in such case, if we are unable to educate our children, starting from primary school when the mind is impressionable to new thcorrectly in this fast changing, competitive world.

The world of science and technology is changing rapidly, every day there is a new discovery or invention, often shaking the very core of what we know about the universe. A very apt example, is discovery of dark energy in the universe and the fact that it makes more than thiry percent of the the observable universe. However, if the kids are taught that universe is only made of matter and energy in school, the very fact of this momentous discovery would be lost on them. It might be possible that the student upon going to college becomes aware of the new research, but as it will be difficult as often it is said "unlearning something requires more challege than learning something".

Also, consider the ramifications of a same national curriculum for a large country like India. The vast country has many provinces with multitudes of people of different culture and traditional values. It makes little sense to have the curriculum of such a variegated country is same throughout. It is impertinent that a poor student from the North eastern province of Assam, is learning about the lifes of the people in the western province of Rajasthan. Instead the student should be taught more about his/her home state to get a better understanding of the trials and tribulations of the people living around him/her.

One might make a case for a same curriculum for subjects pertaining to national importance like the Civics of the government. Every student most certainly be aware about the government formations, his/her fundatmental rights provided by the fedral government, but in such cases as well, the knowledge about the state curriculum should take over preference.

Ultimately, the whole idea of education is to understand the world and get a better outlook in life. The idea of students being taught the same national curriculum until they enter college is parochial.