A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

We are living in the age of jet planes, the world is shrinking everyday and the cultural differences are mitigating rapidly. Its high time that the diversity introduced by the different curriculums by different educational bodies in a country should be eradicated. These diversified curriculums introduce some serious issues.

One major problem is scaling the performance of students. The difference between educational curriculums results in enormous number of data points to consider when it comes to compare students from different curriculum. For example, in India, CBSE curriculum is known to be pretty lenient compared to curriculums of regional state boards when it comes to the work load or the grading doctrine. For securing admission to prestigious engineering institutes like IIT, students need to excel in a nation wide competitive examination and their respective board examinations. CBSE is quite notorious for inflating grades in board examinations. Hence it becomes exponentially difficult for evaluators to bring everyone in the same scale. Similar arguments can be made for jobs in government sectors, where the grades of the board examinations are of paramount importance. A single curriculum would naturally alleviate these problems.