A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

In the preceding statement, the author asserts that all students belonging to one nation should be subject to the same national curriculum until they enter college. Although this argument is not entirely untenable, the fallacious reasoning leading to this conclusion fails to take into account the individuality of different students. Schools are designed to be a support system, allowing students to make choices - and mistakes - by teaching them how to deal with difficult choices early on. Taking away these choices, undermines the primary goal of the institutions.

The primary concern with the author's reasoning lies in his unsubstantiated assumptions. Depriving students of a wilful choice will disengage them from the subject matter. When forced to study subjects irrelevant to their interests and further ambitions, even the strongest of students will fail to excel. By refusing to adapt the curriculum to students' fortes, school will limit their cognitive ability and restrict the learning process. Providing students with the option of cultivating their strengths is necessary to further advance in a professional career.

Furthermore, educational institutions are faced with a task much more daunting than merely teaching students about history and biology. Primary schools serve as a stepping stone, preparing its attendees for future endeavours by providing them with valuable life experience. In order to learn and assume a greater responsibility later in life, students need to be able to make choices and live with their consequences. Depriving teenagers of this chance will have derogatory effects later in life as they will not have been able to make mistakes early on.

Even though the author's reasoning is seemingly narrow-minded, the argument is not entirely untenable. Proponents could argue that a curriculum equal to all students could serve as a tool of measurement. By teaching all individuals the same subjects, it could become easier for them to effectively define their strengths and weaknesses before college. However, a tailored curriculum in combination with approachable educators could also fulfil this goal without taking away from students' personal and cognitive growth.

In summary, it is clear that the downsides of an inflexible curriculum outweigh the upsides. While supporters of said curriculum may claim that it could help students define areas of strength and weakness, it deprives them of the ability to make and learn from mistakes early on. Apart from forcing students to study subjects they may not necessarily have an interest in, the curriculum also deprives the student of a sense of individuality by limiting their ability to make choices.