A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

The author of the topic states that students should be required to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. Due to the controversial and complex nature of the topic, there is not a general arguement on this issue. I, however, to a great extent, agree with the statement. In the ensuing paragraphs, convincing resons will be delineated.

For one thing, schools can ensure the qulity of their teaching more easily if students take the same curriculum. As we all know, to offer a new course, schools and teacher would have to spend a lot of money and time working with the teaching materails and teaching methods, which may not necessarily ensure the quality. On the contrary, if all the students take the same curriculum, then teachers could share their experience and skills, which makes the teaching more professional, scientific and efficient.

For another thing, students will be equiped with the most important and foundamental knowledge if they are required to take the same curriculum that is the basis for all fields of study. Let us boldly image that if a school does not require its students to take mathematics class, then most of them will skip it for its difficulty, resulting in their unqualification in their further study in fields like physics and chemistry. The kind of case may happen very often since most of the students are not mature enough to consider what they really need to learn to pursue their future study and tend to choose the courses that are easy for them.

However, what I have alluded to above dose not draw the whole picture. Due to the different characteristics of the students, requring them to take the same curriculum may even frustrate them. For example, someone may lose his interest in study if he is required to take the courses that he is not good at. In these cases, our education methods should be more flexible, like making differnent requirements for one course: a student can choose to be just provided with a "pass or not pass" score for the courses he is not good at and a letter socres for the courses he likes.

In conclusion, requiring students to take the same national curriculum will not only equip students with basic knowledge that they need in further study but also ensure the qulity of the teaching process. And the disadvantages brought by this recommendation can be solved by a flexible examination requirement.