A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.
College education is very important for students who want to pursue a specific skill and excel in their careers.
All students who are interested should attend colleges to thus enhance their knowledge and be better equipped to
solve the problems of the world and earn a livelihood for themselves.
A nation in my perspective should not impose the same national curriculum on all of it's students before college.
Different colleges conduct different entrance exam.Students should focus on the subjects of their interest that
helps them get admission to a college they wanted to get admitted to . For example a student aspiring to become
a doctor and preparing for medical entrance exam should not be forced to study history or other subjects.
Until middle school students can have same national curriculum. But high school students who are under pressure
of the studying for their field should be not burdened with unnecessary subjects.
We should shed light on the condition of high school students that are already juggling different curricular activities
preparing for national entrance exams. Such a nationalized curriculum which is not related to their field can increase
the burden of the student and make them more prone to mental health issues.
There are different colleges for different fields of study.We have medicine school , law school , art colleges,
military academy , science and engineering , sports academy . Different students have different aptitudes
and interests. Based on this they select a future field of study and prepare to get admitted to the same .
A sports enthusiast for whom it has been made mandatory to study a national curriculum beyond his aptitude is more of a
punishment . Thus we should make a sound judgement before enacting such a law. High school students have already crossed
middle school where they study different subjects and are now capable enough to decide .
Different nations have different policy
for the national curriculum .
In a country like India , education is a cabinet subject and is managed
by a minister. There are central and state boards of education and students are free to choose either for study.
The different boards of education like ICSE and CBSE are similar with slight difference. English is tougher and mandatory
for ICSE board students as compared to other boards. Thus parents and students have a choice to select a board
and study. Nations can thus communicate some common fields to be taught in all the boards in national
interest but having a single unified national curriculum is against the freedom of students. They should be
allowed to pursue education as they deem necessary in align with their future goals ,
without the intervention of the state.
In conclusion, Nations should invest in quality education of all its citizens since they are the assets of the nation.
When they are free to select a college , they should also have the freedom to choose their interests early in
their educational journey.Though some subjects can be introduced and taught in all schools for national
interest if needed.