A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The education encompasses a variety of matters: community building, fostering skilled workers, etc. Thus, it is a prerequisite for us to scrutinize the education in a variety of measures. While I can concur with those who purport that a nation must provide the same education to all K-12 students, I would ultimately disagree with the idea of a national curriculum since there are more flaws than benefits to it. The education with equal content not only fails to consider the difference between individual potentials, but also it disappoints the merit of clashes.

Indisputably, national curriculum can be a great way to put everyone on the same seat. While inequality greatly impedes equal opportunity and access to fundamental outlets for success, the same national curriculum can guarantee equal door to everyone. The great success of such model can be found in countries like South Korea at which identical curriculum brought about a conspicuous academic progress that ultimately lead to a decline of inequality rate.

However, the idea of enforcing same learning materials to all students fails to regard inherent discrepancies among individuals. Everyone has a different place to be and to desire. Thomas Edison was to be an innovator and businessman. Albert Einstein was to be a scientist. Oscar Wilde was to be a writer. It is educations fundamental role to find and foster distinguished students and guide them to better express their talents. Demanding Einstein to take a required course of art throughout the school years will not make him a better scientist, which he desires to be. The same national curriculum will contain students' true learning appetite by taking their time away to explore their field of interest. Thus, the designing education curriculum must remain on individual level instead of large national level.

Furthermore, a thought behind same curriculum requirement is a dangerous one since it disappoints the merit of clashes of ideas. In school, particularly in K-12 education, students are taught essentially of others beliefs and opinion supported with facts. No matter how objective the findings may be, they are the products of subjective interest of the founders. Therefore, students must stay meticulous and critical in examining materials, and be able to say "No" to those that contradict their own beliefs. This indispensable procedure is unable to be performed under the circumstance at which all students are required to learn the same curriculum. It is no different from a totalitarian system that lead countries like North Korea to devastation, a hell of deliberate penetration and brainwash. At the core of non-identical educational curriculum lies the freedom to dispute and go against, which merits great innovation.

The education is like a rainbow. It has been taken under the thousands of different colors, categorized in several nations. These notions gave birth to many great individual and social performances throughout the centuries by allowing students to concentrate on their talents and question the orthodoxies. Although a society may benefit from the identical educational curriculum as it provides equal access to information to some degree, it is not recommended since it can greatly impede individual learning interest and ability to go against one another to create common, yet innovative values.