A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

The statement "A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college" is a complex and controversial statement. I partially agree and partially disagree with this statement. I provide reasons, evidences, examples in following paragraphs to advocate my view on this statement.

We are familiar with saying "Today's children are tomorrow's adults".This aphorism carries a great level of implicit meaning in it. The main intention of this is that the adults who are going to live in next period are children of this period. So in order to gain a development or any good will from the adults of next period one should take care of the children of this period and train them in such a manner.

In this context, student should be educated in good manner. The curriculum plays a vital role in students' education. If a nation imposes a same curriculum on students of all parts of nation then it helps in uniform development of students. This enables the student to sustain in any part of the nation. For example in India, land of diversities have many variations in cultures, practices, social beliefs etc. When student is kept under a same roof then it results in uniformity among students. So that a student of one region can adopt to any part or region of the nation quickly as he will have previous knowledge about it.

Common curriculum even helps to avoid diversity among students. For example, In India we have many Educational boards like ICSE, CBSE . In addition to this we have have State boards for every state. Take the students of CBSE or ICSE their curriculum enables them to gain more science related knowledge and lacks in Mathematics whereas in State boards importance is given to Maths. As a result when students come to same college a diversity appears in their knowledge.

On the other hand, though such a curriculum helps to picture ourselves into national level it impedes our growth of regional knowledge and regional customs. For example, consider the case of India again, as it is land of diversities to learn about each case in detail takes a lot of time so to prevent wastage of time in common curriculum students are will be made to learn general concepts. As a result of this many particularities are margin. This in turn leads to having vague knowledge about everything but no specialization in a particular thing. So this leads to lack of pervasiveness in students.

If common curriculum is imposed then national languages are given more importance than the state languages. This may lead to uniformity but impedes his/her specialization in regional language skills.

As I have provided irrefutable evidences and examples in context of the statement. I finally conclude by saying that this statement is partially acceptable one.