A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The question about the necessity of the universal national curriculum has been raised quite frequently. Many people are still ambivalent about this issue since each point of view has its pros and cons. I mostly agree with this statement and my reasoning will be presented below.

First of all, the equality of students knowledge will be ensured with the help of the same national curriculum. In other words, if we consider the United States - no matter if a student is from Boston or Seattle, they will have the same general background. This will help to make the university admission process more fair. Since everybody has studied the same subjects, during the same amount of time, with the identical textbooks, their chances, which are dependent on the external factors, will be equal.

Secondly, it could simplify the government's control over the education field. For example, usually school teachers must take some courses to keep updated with the current trends in education and other topics. If there is no univeral curriculum. it is will almost impossible to make such seminars equally useful for all teachers since the material covered in their classes or time dedicated to it can vary greatly. Moreover, in the majority of countries pupils who are about to graduate must take final exams that are, more often than not, standardtized. Therefore, it it will be easier for the government to create a fair well- assesing test that every student would be able to complete sucessfully.

However, some people might argue that the same national curriculum will hurt cities' identities or it will make traditions and customs of certain areas be forgotten. Clearly, the naton-wide based curriculum cannot represent fully the peculiarities of all regions of the country, it is only able to give a short overview. Therefore, the advocates of this point of view argue that the local identity of each of thos areas may be lost while this unification process. Notwithstanding, I do not quite agree with that. The school's main purpose is to provide its pupils with general education, but there are also families, art schools and other institutions that are responsible for preserving and tranmitting the traditions and education the young generation.

In the final analysis, it is clear while the majority s still ambivalent when it comes to this issue. Nevertheless, I believe that the advantages of the creation and implementation of the national curriculum outweigh the cons of it sich it will ensure the equal chances of pupils after the graduation and simplify the contol in the education field.