Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Wilderness can be defined as any uncultivated, uninhabited, inhospitable area whether forests or desert. The author argues that the nations should enact laws for preservation of wilderness areas in their natural state even if they have prospects of economic gain. While the policy would appeal to environmental activists, animal rights activists, and people with environmental concerns, there must be certain exceptions in its application.

Since, the last century or so after industrial revolution and advances in healthcare, human population has seen an exponential rise. To cater for the consequent need for more industrialization housing, employment and other amenities, forests have been unabatedly exploited for land, wood and other products. This has led to a wide-scale deforestation having drastic consequences. Cutting down of trees - being a natural source of Oxygen and Carbon dioxide sequestration - has a major contribution to global warming. Other repercussions, now very apparent, include polar ice cap melting, soil erosion, low level of underground water, pollution of natural water reservoirs, etc. In absence of any concrete law, this situation is likely going to persist, and then many catastrophic events that threaten even the existence of humans are inevitable as expounded by the ‘climate change’ theory. Hence, no doubt, strict legislations must be in place to protect what has remained until now. Otherwise, the practices ostensibly done for economic gain, and hence human welfare, would bring the very existence of humans to the precipice - let alone their welfare.

In scenarios where wilderness areas would be converted into special economic zones, more and more people will be attracted to fill in the requirements for man power. This in turn will lead to further deforestation to accommodate such huge influx of people. Moreover, the interference with natural flora and fauna, and hence the biotic symbiosis, would bring many animals and plants to the verge of extinction which again poses a big threat to the balance of ecosystem. Therefore, any move to use such natural areas for commercial purposes would result in concrete jungles replacing beautiful landscape; strip a nation from its natural heritage; rob next generations of nature enthusiasts and researchers from the opportunity to cherish and examine exquisite and diverse species; and what not. Certainly, such a loss can never be a wise trade-off with any economic gain.

Some may argue that there are countries, e.g. African nations with acres of wilderness land but still unable to provide food to its majority. Hence, rather than worrying for next generation using wilderness areas for economical growth of the region can ensure the survival of the present one. Interestingly, this can still be achieved through using the land in a manner that is not detrimental to the wild or plant life e.g. development of natural parks. For example, many wilderness areas in Tanzania have been developed into natural parks. This has not only ensured the constant income for local and national economy but also the preservation of those areas through the revenue generated from tourism related activities. Other possibility is the use of desert areas with minimal plant or animal life for say harnessing solar or wind energy.

Another point to support the statement is that no matter how much NGOs work for awareness or other initiatives only respective governments have the authority to pass and enforce laws and hence they are obligated to do the same. However, laws must be passed with caution and specific consideration of different areas. Any general law would prevent even the innocuous use of wilderness land, as described in the previous paragraph, and thus hindering the much needed economic boost. Similarly, different areas must be graded according to their vulnerability and importance for the local ecosystem.

In conclusion, nations must indeed pass laws and enforce them to protect wilderness areas in their pristine form, however, that must be practiced with local consideration and certain exceptions in order to allow non-harmful use of the natural lands for economic benefits of the local population.