Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position

Time and again humans have depleted natural resources, laid waste to forests, destroyed natural environments to accommodate its ever increasing population. A lot of today's modern cities are based on previous human settlements around a water source or over a forest of some kind, usually by displacing the existing fauna that already existed at that place.

Over a century ago, the plethora of flora that existed all around the world was enough to sustain the populace of earth. There was an ecological balance, rains came down at appropriate times, and there were not much cities. Why deforestation today is a bad idea is profoundly emphasized by current weather patterns. Agricultural clocks are changing, expectant georgian sectors are almost always hit by the change in weather, either facing an acute shortage of water, or on the other extreme end, floods.

And it is not just the agriculture that is affected by the incessant deforestation. Trees bind the soil, provide the much needed oxygen for the massive human race, and are symbiotic with the regional fauna. Destroying trees to make way for more area for humans to live destroys the balance in the food pyramid. Herbivorous forms of life are primarily dependent on wilderness, and similarly carnivorous forms require a requisite amount of herbivores. Affecting the base of the pyramid affects all other life forms, directly or indirectly.

On the large scale, widespread deforestation also leads to greenhouse effect, which in turn leads to ice depletion at the polar caps, change in rain patterns, and subsequent global warming.

Clearing the wilderness to give more people a place to live, from an economical standpoint, stabilizes the society. Housing is one of the primary needs of the society, and needless to say, without enough space for housing, the society would be in havoc. The sections of the economy dependent on wood or land, like real estate and furniture, are, additionally bolstered, and statistically this trend has been shown to correlate with the amount of deforestation.

Overall, the judgement of today's governments over clearing of forests is clearly vital in determining the fate of the large fauna that is usually dependent on the same. Taking a firm stand to preserve the environment for the future generations is the critical question - with which our history, present and the future is intertwined.