Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

When it comes to how a nation should make use of its wilderness areas, people\'s views tend to be ambivalent. In the history, some nations have suffered from the consequences of over-exploitation of natural resources. As far as I am concerned, wilderness areas need to be protected, but in statement that any of them should be preserved by law.

Foremost, there is no doubt that wilderness areas are invaluable treasure for a country. Not only are they reservoirs of natural resources, but also play a significant role in environment. For example, over-exploitation of forests can lower the humidity of local areas, while causing severe soil loss at the same time. In addition, natural forests are a mysterious place yet to be studied. Many of the unrecognized plants there may be source for novel drugs. Sacrificing these natural resources for higher GDP and unban development is nothing but myopic. This becomes even more imperative in the case of rare species and natural resources, the preservation of which is of both environmental, economic and strategic significance.

What is more, protecting the remaining wilderness areas in their natural state can also be lucrative. Thanks to the development of cities, most people now lead a convenient and comfortable life in urban areas, but this has also made them avid for wilderness. Therefore, wilderness regions has become extremely popular destinations for tourists, making it an ideal choice for government to combine nature preservation with tourism. The revenue from tourism can serve as part of the funding for the preservation, easing the financial pressure for government, and boost local economy simultaneously.

However, totally prohibiting people from harnessing natural resources can also be devastating. Firstly, a nation\'s economy cannot overwhelmingly rely on the third industry like tourism, so it is necessary to use natural resources for manufacturing and exporting purposes. In fact, cautiously designed and well-organized exploitation of natural resources can be condusive. For instance, cutting big trees in the forest can open up a window for smaller ones to receive sufficient sunshine and water, making them growing faster. Similarly, proper fishing can also ease the competition within the fish population and let the population thrive sustainably, according to ecological theories.

Due to aforementioned, protection of wilderness areas by law is absolutely necessary, especially in cases when rare species and resources are involved. At the same time, rational exploitation of nature is also expected and actually unavoidable for any economy entity. Thus, I clear see no neccessity to put any wilderness regions of a nation under the protection of laws.