Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position

Earth, which at one time, could be described as a pristine ball of green and blue, is now a dull gray entity with only patches of its former beauty remaining. This is largely due to the colonization of man everywhere on the planet. Furthermore, many complications have occurred due to this rapid colonization and even more will problems will begin in the near future if nothing is done. All nations passing the law to preserve wilderness will not only see these complications reduce but also reap benefits in the long run.

The encroachment of man in nature's territory has resulted in many animals either going extinct or close to it. Taking away the remaining territories will only accelerate the extinction of other species. If this takes place, the future generation will be observing the skeletons of tigers and rhinos in museums instead of their natural environment. Furthermore, they will not be able to appreciate nature as there are no more wilderness areas, only concrete jungles. Who would want to live in a future like this?

While it is true that exploiting wilderness areas will lead to economic gain, these gains will be offset by the losses made during the long-term. For example, global warming is becoming a real problem in recent times, leading to the melting of the polar ice caps which, in turn, is increasing the sea-level. For this reason, we are losing the land along our shores. Moreover, Cutting down trees in wilderness areas will only serve to accelerate this. As the temperature rises globally, several people will resort to using air-conditioners and fans, thereby creating the need for more energy which ultimately results in the loss of resources for the country.

Therefore, while passing laws to preserve nature may result in not reaping the economic gains in the short-term, they will lead to a prevention of losses in the long-run.

The past two decades have seen rapid industrialization, leading to rapid advances in technology. However, it has lead to many animals going extinct; many rivers being polluted. Even the air we breathe is not as fresh as it used to be. To prevent these situations from further deteriorating, nations need to pass laws to preserve nature.