In order to produce successful original work, scholars and scientists must first study the successful work of others to learn what contributions remain to be made.

The successful work created by great scholars and scientists plays an important role is knowing about the later studied and help develop new theories. The present day scholar or scientist should have a basis on which they would like to study. For this purpose the former work has to be taken in to account. For producing Original Work a scholar, or scientist needs to understand various factors and aspects that would contribute to his work. The detail study of the past work would bring a closure to people working on it and it helps to understand disparate theories of the past. however, one should not completely get lost in such process and be convinced by what was produced earlier. Rather the scholars and scientists should consider as a part of the study which would be useful for their work.

When a scientist is trying to produce a new theory in a specific realm, he would have to do a detail research to understand the previous theories and clarify his qualms if any. This would help he go beyond what is known or discover what was never known before. The great worked has helped many times in history to come up with new theories which act as a foundation. Had he not studied the erstwhile work, he would not question the relative theories and go further. This is useful to produce a contemporary work and make new inventions. However, accepting completely with the previous theories would deter the present scientific worker and they might consequently lose vigor. Keeping this in mind, only the ground of the theories should be considered rather than being carried away by it.

In some fields it is very important to study the past literature. For example a person must study all the musical ragas or traditional music to produce work in the same field. One cannot produce similar work without knowing the previous literature in that field. One more such example would be the Newton's Mechanic theory. His theory had been very useful and has also helped to create the quantum theory which relied on Newton's theory. Additionally, the proposed parts were compelling were easy to produce with the help of the old theories that were already available. for example, In the past, the theory proposed by Lenardo da vinc regarding the parachute flight has been taken in consideration and further studied were done on that topic and now we have parachutes and other objects that fly in the sky with relation to this theory. As evidenced the study of the previous work would influence what one wants to produce now.

However, the are many theories and inventions that are not based on any former theories and yet were successful. For instance, we can consider the most primitive scientists who had very less sources to any kind of literature or we can say they had no background studied available on a specific realm. Yet, there were very insightful and determined and produced inspirational work that has helped humans evolve over the years. So this cannot be totally ruled out.

All said and done, the previous work is any field would help as a source to produce a new theory, however, one should not be completed swayed away by the theories but rather, take them as a base for their study to be more efficient and effectual.