Originality does not mean thinking something that was never thought before, it means putting old ideas together in new ways.

Originality has different meanings for everyone. For some it means anything that was never thought before while for author it means putting old things together in new ways. I agree with the author. There are infinite number of phenomenon going around us in this world. they can be combined together in a number of different permutation resulting in a different thing everytime.

Originality arises from the fact that it has never been done ever, it is pure or has no influence of anything previously done. But in actual world it is not possible most of the times. Here everyhing, that is novel, has some influence of developments done early. It is not the fact that a guy wake up a morning and invented super computers . On the contrary, it evolves through changes and development occuring at different stages.Even galileo who discovered stars has started with seeing the sky and then mixing his views with his ideas and finally invented things which are called original today.

Thoughts and ideas are the result of continuous evolution of human mind and its interaction with the nature around it. The human skill of reasoning develops with the interaction only and with this skill only new ideas are brought to the world. After human saw the wheel and bull then only the idea of bullock cart came into existence. suppose there would be no bull then man can never thought of cart and invention of vehicles would not have occured.

Praising the fact that combination of conventional ideas only work , i would not neglect the fact that something ideas that have never been thought before came into the picture But such a case is very rare.

Concluding the sum I would say that ideas old and new both works in the favour of originality when combined in a correct way.