Originality does not mean thinking something that was never thought before; it means putting old ideas together in new ways.

The base of the pyramid supports all the structure above it, similarly some unique, never thought before idea is required for supporting the other innovations. It cannot be said that originality is just putting old ideas together. If there are no new ideas, then there will not be a base to support other inventions and ideas. I will provide some examples and will shed more light on this topic in the passage below.

As, I already said, according to me, originality also means discovering innovative things and coming up with new unique idea. Everyone knows about satellites and how they are helping to revolutionize the technological world, society, and humankind around us. Rocket propulsion is the main part of Satellites launching procedure. Is rocket propulsion an originality, according to the definition mentioned, it is not. Rocket propulsion is not merely putting some old ideas together. It is something that was never thought before. So, originality does include thinking something that was never thought before. It also means coming up with something new and innovative. Hence, new ideas are required to come up with other inventions in the future. But just putting old ideas together is not the only definition of an Originality.

Furthermore, we can see example of Facebook and other social networks. These correctly fit into the definition of originality mentioned in the statement. They just put old idea of AOL, Orkut, etc. in a new way. But, as we can see, there was existing true original idea of social network that was developed by AOL which helped in development of other ideas. Thus, as we can see, new ideas are required for development of other ideas and originality also means thinking completely new things.

There are other places where humankind came up with new things by putting old ideas together, but these old ideas were not merely developed by putting some ideas. These were real, path-breaking ideas, which helped in the development of other inventions. Everyone knows about internet, we use it daily more than anything else. It was invented by DARPA, a military research organization of USA. But now we are using it for totally different purpose. As we can again see, internet was developed by putting old idea came up by DARPA. But, DARPA's idea is the base and is also and originality.

In my opinion, Originality means putting some old ideas together in new way and also coming up with new groundbreaking things. I disagree with the definition of Originality mentioned in the statement give to me.