Overdependence on Technology will Advance Human Development

The advancement in Technology in the last few decades has completely changed the way we live our lives.It has affected our life like never before.Some of it has disrupted our thinking while some effects has been transformational. Though there can be debate on the extent of its utility but there can't be any doubt that it has emerged as one of the most important tool to deal with many of the pressing needs of the society.It has, time and again, helped in furthering human development through its own progress.Failure to tackle issues like high mortality rate,illiteracy,low per capita income etc has also bought it to limelight as it has shown potential to tackle them with ease and efficiency.

The era before Industrial revolution was marred with High unemployment rate,low productivity,inefficiency but with coming up of modern tools and machineries we saw optimum utilization of Natural,Physical and Human resources.This led to the overall increase in per capita income and better standards of living.People no longer had to live on subsistence. It ensured that people had more to spend on healthcare which helped in bringing down mortality rate and increased life expectancy progressively.In this way we can see that application of technological tools had ripple effect on other aspects of human life and thereby contributes in overall human development.

Now in the current time we see a continuation of above trend where a large number of countries are using the same tools for common prosperity.Not only that newer tools like Social media is also complementing already existing tools to ensure justice in all its form i.e Political,Economic,Social.

Human development is also about the freedom to express and act.These technological tools has helped in political empowerment of people across the globe due to their democratising effect.A case in point is Egypt revolution where we saw the real power of such tool which helped in bringing down the tyrannical rule which in turn paved the way for meeting the developmental aspirations.

These advancements shouldn't just be seen as something that has happened organically.Their development is very much a reflection of the aspirations of society.Genetically modified crops emerged because there was seen a need to increase productivity and tackle the menace of food security.The science of meteorology developed as the need was seen to predict weather related events(like monsoon) for agricultural purposes.Medical sciences and tools(like IBM watson supercomputer) developed as their was shortage of medical personnel.Thus, we see that sometime technology also takes a cue from the ideas of Human development.

In earlier times due to lack of technological knowhow many problematic areas which had the potential to affect human life was tackled based on intuitions and common sense.For example Forests areas were cleared without concern for biodiversity as their was absence of tools to conduct Environmental Impact assessment(EIA). Power plants were constructed on seismic areas.But with advancement in technology (Like GIS mapping) we see a more informed decision could be made for developmental policies.

No longer students have to rely only on schools/universities/institutions to get the desired education and skills.Tools like Open course ware(OCW) has redefined the contours of learning. The restrictions of Physical infrastructure, quality education and affordability has been appropriately addressed.This in turn has led to overall human development and empowered them to go for achieving higher pursuiits of life.

Furthermore, we are aware that for effective development their is need for formulating and implementing policies free from corruption and unethical practices.Herein ,in Indian context, Tools like Aadhar,online RTI,PRAGATI etc has helped in promoting ethical governance and has improved quality of service delivery by ensuring accountability and curbing corruption via digital media monitoring. This ensure utilization of public funds for the development of the poorest of the poor.

Not only that development of marginalised classes like SCs/STs/Dalits are also getting challenged as such tools aren't discriminatory.Disabled people have been greatly benefited with developments such as BRAILLE,Jaipur prosthetic legs etc.Thus, wee see that Technological development provides us with immense opportunity.

But, on the other hand, many of the advancement also are likely to affect humanity in ways never imagined before.Proliferation of Nuclear weapons has kept everyone on their toes as there always exist a fear that it might go in wrong hand which could then have catastrophic effect for the rest of the world.Automation is likely to to cause loss of jobs(though still disputed).Too much of time spent online has started affecting our social relationships and has hindered growth of social traits like empathy , compassion which is crucial for our overall development.

Thus, the need is to acknowledge that more dependence also means more vulnerability and frame policies/schemes and combine them with the best of Technologies, while at the same time keeping an oversight to ensure the welfare of people doesn't get compromised