People pursuing intellectual interest for personal reasons are more likely to benefit the society than people who act for public good.

As we all know people pursue intellectual interest for several reasons: some might be motivated by the personal benefit while there are cases of altruistic people whose main goal is the welfare of the society. I partially agree with the authors claim as I have experienced or heard the story of many self centered as well as altruistic people.

Some people in this world are always concern for the society rather than their own well being. When we look back to the history, we can get the example of several great people who spend their whole life only for the society and their upcoming generations. To bolster my opinion, I would like to give example of India’s great leader Mahatma Gandhi. By profession, he was lawyer. Most of the time worried about Indian people, he is merely known as lawyer but his great achievement provided him the title of the “Father of India”. During his tenure, India was ruled by the British people. Indian had to bear lots of hardship, for British rule. It seems nearly impossible to wipe out British influence. However, Mahatma Gandhi got off protest against them. With continuous dedication, he was able to overthrow British rule and free India.

Similarly, Mother Teresa strikes on our mind while remembering great social worker of the world. Since her childhood, she had keen connection with the destitute and vulnerable person of the society. She pursued her career, However, Her goal was to help poor and disable people of the society. During her lifetime, she did many heroic deeds for the poor like built school, orphanage. Despite her educational attainment from well known schools and college, she tirelessly made her effort for the poor people.

On the other hand, there are people who provide their contribution to the society unknowingly. On the way of pursuing their dream, they are able to benefit society and get credit for their deeds. For Instance, One of the greatest doctors of Nepal, Bola Rijal was in first motivated by his own greed. He pursued his degree to get good job, to have well settled family, to get some status on the society. However, He is now known among the Nepalese people as saver of life. Till now, he has rescued thousands of life from the death. Therefore, we cannot overlook him when time comes to deal about the social worker.

In a nutshell, it’s obvious that people who gain education or intellectual thing for the welfare of the society is beneficial for the society. At the same time we should not overlook great deeds of people who made for society while accomplishing their target.